Christmas Jars!!!!

After reading the book,
“Christmas Jars”
I decided
that I wanted to take the opportunity with
my family to give as the Savior did.
I wanted my boys to have a selfless Christmas.
What an amazing year it turned out to be!
We read the book as a family
and then started filling jars for our neighbors.
Each jar contained 1 roll of pennies….
that was it!
We added a poem to the jar so that
the neighbor’s wouldn’t be left to wonder
what the purpose of a gift of 100 pennies meant.
Here’s the Poem:
A jar of pennies JUST FOR YOU . . .
we really went all out!
But the real meaning of this gift I
S WHAT CHRISTMAS IS ALL ABOUT!
A pocket full of change, can be
a heavy thing to pack . . .
So just place it in this little jar,
and remember – NOT TO TAKE IT BACK!
When filled, this jar can CHANGE THE HEART of
someone who is in need.
The story is told in “Christmas Jars”
a book you’ll definitely want to read.
Jars are given in SECRET . . .
NO ONE MUST EVER KNOW,
just where their CHRISTMAS JAR came from,
or the next place it may go.
So we hope this year you’ll FILL YOUR JAR,
AND SEND IT ON IT’S WAY . . .
To follow the Savior’s example,
and make Christmas HIS HOLIDAY!
May the TRUE meaning of Christmas be with
you throughout the year!
Tricia O. Smith
Here’s the PDF:
Green Gift Tag:
Here’s the PDF:
Gift Tag:
Here’s the PDF:
Gift Tag
Here’s the PDF for the Gift Tags:
I tied a ribbon to the neck of the jar
and added the gift tag.
…..
This was one of my
favorite neighborhood gifts to give
because I knew it had the potential to
BLESS
the lives of others in need.
It was truly a blessing for my family! …..

Posted on December 7, 2011, in December, Everything Family, Family Home Evening, Freebies, Holidays & Traditions, LDS Families and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. These are beautiful! I have decided the make a Christmas Jar for a family in need. I haven’t even read the book, but reading about it inspired me!

Leave a Reply

