It’s Summertime!

Summer is in full swing and I have to say I have been enjoying it!  Sorry I have been such a slacker but I don’t get much down time and I needed some! 🙂  Thanks to Valerie for all of her hard work getting everything transferred over.

I know it is a bit late for tips on summer structure but I’m going to throw some out there anyway!  We have been slumming around here the first couple of weeks of summer but we are craving a little bit of a routine.  My kids are getting older but that doesn’t mean they are getting more self driven and responsible.  Does that ever happen? 🙂

I have decided that this summer I am going to keep things simple.  No matter  the age of my kids, they all like lists!  They respond well when they know exactly what is expected of them and they can check things off as they go.  Here is my plan of attack this year:

First, I am going to list all of the jobs that I need done during the week (i.e., dust blinds, dust baseboards, wipe down doors, wipe down bathrooms, empty garbages, take the garbage out, wash windows, laundry, yard work, etc.) along with their daily chores (i.e., make bed, get dressed, pick up room, practice instrument, etc.).  Next, I will separate them out into days of the week.  For example, Monday we change the sheets and do laundry.  Tuesday we clean bathrooms and do some yard work.  Wednesday we dust furniture, blinds and do the vacuuming and so on.  Then I can separate the jobs out for each child.  Each child will receive their every day chores along with one or two extra chores.  I will put them on an index card with their name on it (one for each day of the week).  You can even laminate them if you want to reuse them each week.  This way they can check things off as they go and they know exactly what needs to be accomplished before play time!

I also like to keep their brains working.  Each day I have planned something for them to do along these lines.  Monday we will do some math, Tuesday we will work on scouts or Faith in God, Wednesday we will read a book out loud together, Thursday we will do more math and Friday we will have some kind of an outing (swimming, Dinosaur Park, Nature Center, etc.).

My kids do better with some kind of structure and I don’t lose my sanity!  I love summertime and the freedom it brings.  I love not having a set schedule that we can’t deviate from.   I love sleeping in now and then and having some lazy days too!  However, I have noticed that we need to have some structure to keep everyone happy.  That doesn’t mean that we can’t shake things up a bit now and then but at least we have some sort of a plan!

I hope you are enjoying your summer.  For an idea that I have used in the past check out this post:

Family Fun Summer Schedule

Happy Summer!! 🙂

Posted on June 12, 2011, in Everything Family, Family Responsibilities, June and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

