FHE – The First Vision

The church was officially organized on April 6, 1830.  To commemorate that date, I thought it would be appropriate to talk about the First Vision.  We have all heard this story several times but each time I hear it my testimony grows.  In the Faith in God book, one of the goals is to give a lesson on Joseph Smith.  I plan on having my 8 year old help me prepare and give this lesson so he can pass that off.

I found this link on lds.org http://lds.org/friend/2001/07/sharing-time-joseph-smith-prophet-of-the-restoration?lang=eng&query=first+vision.  It is a great resource.  I am going to have my child read the article and create the box with the figures to show what happened.  When I printed the graphics on the page, I changed it to landscape and printed them on a scale of 180%.  It made it bigger so that we can all see them when he gets it put together.  I hope that makes sense.  Let me know if you have questions.  Here is the outline for the lesson:

Opening Song:  The Ninth Article of Faith, CS 128a  or  Joseph Smith’s First Prayer, Hymns 26

Opening Prayer:

Scripture: Joseph Smith History 1:14-17

Lesson:  Read the first two paragraphs from the lesson.  Then present the puppet show that you created from the figures provided.  You can either do this yourself with the help of your children or have your child do it to pass off the goal in Faith in God.  I have found that having my children give the lesson is a pretty powerful tool.   Not only does my child grow and learn that is giving the lesson, but my other children learn to respect each other.

Activity:  Puzzle Pieces – Use the following puzzle for a fun family activity.  Have each child pick a puzzle piece and answer the question.  Then as you get more puzzle pieces, try to put them together to see what the picture is.  Once the picture is complete, bear your testimony of the restoration of the gospel.  Tell your children that the church was organized on April 6, 1830.  Encourage them to think about that this week.  Explain that there were about 30 people present but only six members that first day.  We now have over 14.1 million members!  The Lord is spreading his gospel and we can be a part of it!  We are so lucky to have the true gospel in our lives.  Joseph Smith sacrificed everything including his life for the gospel.  We need to share that will others.  Encourage them to pray for a missionary experience.

The First Vision

Closing Prayer:

Treat

Posted on April 4, 2011, in Everything Family, LDS Families and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

