It's not too late for Valentine Devotionals!

I have a confession to make!  I had a terrible week last week (busy every night!) and I did not have time to get my devotionals ready. By the way, thanks to Valerie for making it look so cute (I have issues when it comes to the fluff!).   However, I am now pulling myself together and I am beginning tonight.  As I studied “Love” in depth and really researched to put this activity together, I realized what an important topic it is.  I also realized the value in studying one subject in depth for a week or so in my scripture study.  My husband and I really try to do things right – as I’m sure all of you do as well.  It can be tough these days with our busy lives!  We work on Family Night, Family Prayer, teaching our kids to work and family scripture study.  However, scripture study is the most difficult for us for some reason.  Everyone knows that we don’t do anything but family on Monday night and we gather for family prayer each night.  For some reason studying the scriptures has been a challenge.  I think it is because I have little ones and lets face it, scripture reading with small children can be difficult!  Anyway, this was my way of overcoming that challenge and as I took the journey to create the activity, I ended up learning quite a bit about myself and my family.

I am challenging you to start a scripture study program.  The reason I kept it simple was because of a tip I got from a friend.  You don’t have to read an entire chapter every night which seems daunting to me and my little ones.  You can read 3 verses and discuss them and it will make a difference!  Don’t struggle to get through an enormous amount of reading.  Do your best and start with 1 verse if need be.  The point is to have scripture study and to show your children that opening and reading the scriptures is VERY important.  It’s kind of like going to church with little children.  You don’t really get much out of it but they do!  They learn it is important to go to church every week and they learn in primary.

I have chosen the devotionals that I really want my family to study over the next week.  You can do the same.  Here is our new schedule for reference: Day 2, Day 3, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 11, Day 13, and Day 14.  As with anything spiritual, let the spirit guide you and pick what works for you!

Have a great week!

Posted on February 6, 2011, in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

