FHE – The Living Christ Week 6

As promised, if you are following our schedule we will finish memorizing the week of Christmas!  How impressive will it be to sit around and recite The Living Christ on Christmas Eve???  I’m so excited we have made it this far.  I am working on a flip chart.  I think I am on to a way I can accomplish that! 🙂  Hopefully that will happen this week.  I am also working on my advent calendar to share.  This is such an exciting time of year.  There is so much to be taught and so much fun to be had doing it!!

As I was thinking about how I could fit everything in, I decided that will do our Living Christ lessons on Sunday.  That way we can still have fun Family Nights and activities all month but we won’t lose our focus.  I will try to post the three remaining lessons by Saturday evening so that you can do the same if you choose to.

This week’s lesson is a great kick off to the Christmas season.  The focus is on Joseph Smith’s testimony of the Savior.  The Living Christ Week 6

Opening Song:  This is My Beloved Son   CS p. 76

Opening Prayer:

Scripture:  D&C 110: 3-4  Ask your family who this talking about.  Discuss what the scripture means and why it is important to read it this time of year.

Lesson:

1.  Of the Living Christ, the Prophet Joseph wrote – Talk about what it would have been like to actually have the Savior appear to you.  Talk about how that might strengthen your testimony and how it would have felt.

2.“His eyes were as a flame of fire; the hair of his head was white like the pure snow; his countenance shone above the brightness of the sun; and his voice was as the sound of the rushing of great waters, even the voice of Jehovah, saying: -What does this tell us about the Savior?

3.  “I am the first and the last; I am he who liveth, I am he who was slain; I am your advocate with the Father” (D&C 110:3–4).  – What does it mean to be the advocate with the Father?

Advocate with the Father (Elder Russell M. Nelson)

Jesus is our Advocate with the Father (see 1 Jn. 2:1D&C 29:5D&C 32:3D&C 45:3D&C 110:4). The word advocate comes from Latin roots meaning a “voice for” or “one who pleads for another.” Other related terms are used in scripture, such as mediator (see 1 Tim. 2:52 Ne. 2:28D&C 76:69). From the Book of Mormon we learn that this responsibility to mediate, or make intercession, was foreseen before His birth: “[Jesus] shall make intercession for all the children of men; and they that believe in him shall be saved” (2 Ne. 2:9).

This mission was clearly evident in the compassionate intercessory prayer of Jesus. In your mind, picture Him kneeling in fervent supplication. Listen to the beautiful language of His prayer. Sense His feeling for His weighty responsibility as mediator:

“I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word.

“Now they have known that all things whatsoever thou hast given me are of thee.

“For I have given unto them the words which thou gavest me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came out from thee, and they have believed that thou didst send me.

“I pray for them” (John 17:6–9).

He is also known as the Mediator of the new testament, or new covenant (see Heb. 9:15Heb. 12:24). Comprehending Him as our Advocate, Intercessor, and Mediator with the Father gives us assurance of His unequaled understanding, justice, and mercy (see Alma 7:12).

4.  Of Him the Prophet also declared: “And now, after the many testimonies which have been given of him, this is the testimony, last of all, which we give of him: That he lives! – Share your testimony of the Savior.  Ask them what a testimony is and encourage them to think about their own testimony.  This month there will be a lot of discussion around the birth of the Savior and His life.  Encourage family members to think about their testimony and write it down.  (You may want to start a new tradition this year and have each child write their testimony to hang on the tree – refer to this post for more info  https://blogmyheartandhome.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/the-living-christ-week-61.pdf?p=1426)

Activity:

Review from the beginning and begin to memorize the new section.   If you choose to write testimonies you can do that here as well.

Closing Prayer:

Treat:

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Everything Family, Family Home Evening, LDS Families and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

