Fun Thanksgiving Ideas – Our Gratitude Tree

In 2007, I made a Gratitude Tree for my family in order to celebrate Thanksgiving all month long.  I am excited to give it to you early so that you have time to print it off and get it ready for your family to start November 1st.  There are three sizes available.  Small, Medium, & Large.  These all need to be pieced together and then laminated.  I sized it so the Large Tree will fit through the wide laminate machine at Alphagraphics.

Cut out each leaf and the tree parts.  Assemble the tree to match the cover page tree.  Place on a wall or some other easy to access area in your home.  On Thanksgiving day have everyone fill out a leaf of what they are grateful for and place it on the tree.

Another great idea is to speak about how life without gratitude is bare and ugly and sad and pitiful, like the sad tree.  Everyday, starting November 1st, pick a leaf and write on it something you’re thankful for, no matter what it may be, and tape it on the tree.  Then talk about how adding each leaf adds a measure of happiness to it’s life.  When the tree is full the abundance of joy is overflowing and it is beautiful to look at.

There are also some acorns that you can use to go with your tree.  I put each of my family members picture on there and put them on the tree as well.  You can print out the ones I have put on here for you and add your own cut out picture to it.  If you are really ambitious, then you can email me your pictures at myheartandhome@gmail.com and I will graphically insert your pictures in there for you and email you back a PDF you can print.  (Yes, I might be a little crazy, but it’s one of my 17 second miracles I am choosing to do for you and your family.  If you’ve read the book then you know what I am talking about.)

BANNERS FOR ALL TREES:

LARGE TREE FILE:

LEAVES FOR LARGE TREE

MEDIUM TREE FILES:

LEAVES FOR MEDIUM TREE

SMALL TREE FILES:

LEAVES FOR SMALL TREE

Posted on October 26, 2010, in Freebies, November and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. hello! Thanks for sharing this tree and leaves. We used it for Family Home Evening tonight to write our gratitude list! Thanks!

    • Thank you Heather for letting me know. I am so glad you were able to use it for Family Home Evening. You are the first person to send a thanks. THANK YOU for remembering to share your gratitude with me. It made my day!

  2. Thanks so much for sharing this! A friend and I are going to get together this week to put these together and do it for FHE next week. I appreciate all the time you put into this!

  3. I love this idea! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. This is so fun. I know this is from last year but I just discovered it. I love the analogy with the barren tree vs a full tree! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Heidi,

    Thanks for letting me know!! You also reminded me that I need to go in and fix the freebie download links so you can actually DO the tree! Look for it sometime later tonight.

    Valerie

    • Yep your right! I hadn’t tried to download it yet. I was searching for ideas on my phone. Now that I am on your blog…ther
      e are so many fun traditions! THANKS

  6. Thank you for posting this! We have made a tree for years and placed it in our home during the month of November and add a new leaf every time we think of something else we are grateful for. But your tree is so much more beautiful! 🙂 Can’t wait to use it.

Leave a Reply

