Wilameena’s 6 Days of Halloween Additional Recipes

One of my best friends, Jen, sent me an email this morning of some cute ideas for the owl treats.  I fell in love with them right away and I am adding them as an additional post for the activity.

I emailed her to see if she had recipes and directions.  If she emails me back, I will add them to the post, otherwise stare at the picture really good and duplicate.  (She did email me back and down below is her recipe directions.)

Here is her original email to me for further details:

Valerie,

We always go to the beach around Halloween.  We go with a group of friends, and we have a Halloween carnival for the kids.  I was going to print a Halloween game from your website, and I saw your most recent post.

I noticed that you have a night for “owl” clues, and I just did an activity with the stake where we had an owl party.  This picture is of chocolate covered marshmallows in the shape of an owl.  It was a hit!  Thought it would
be a good treat for the owl night.  I’m sending you one more email of owl cookies we made, too!  You’re so creative, and I love your website!  Thanks for sharing!”
THANKS A BUNCH JEN!!!

Marshmallow Owls

(You should be able to click on the picture and have a larger image show up.)
(Here’s her updated email.)
Valerie,
I’m glad you liked them!  They are super easy to make!  Here’s the just of it….For the marshmallow owls, I took the fruity-flavored marshmallows from Wal-Mart (they are a little smaller than the large mallows and yummy and colorful!) and put two on a stick.  On the top marshmallow, pinch the mallow to resemble “ears” for the owl, then dip in chocolate.  I used candy necklace eyes, and flower sprinkles for the beak and feet, but other sprinkles will work, too.

Owl Cookies

For the owl cookies, you make a sugar cookie dough, and a chocolate sugar cookie dough.  Roll the plain dough into a log shape, then the chocolate dough into a rectangle.  Wrap the chocolate around the plain dough, then cut into cookies.  Place two cookies together, then bake.  When you take them out of the oven, press a candy corn or a cashew into the cookie for a beak, and put an M&M for the eyes.  Can put eyelashes on with choc. or frosting, too!

These are so fun!  The girls in Activity Days could not stop talking about them!  (We leaders liked them, too!)  Thanks again for all the fun ideas for Halloween.  I can’t wait to try them out!

Jen

Posted on October 24, 2010, in Freebies, LDS Families, October, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

