Decorating Boxes – Who Has Some Great Ideas for These?

One of my favorite places to shop is the Desert Industries.  I love finding bargains and love when I find something that is so fantastic it makes me smile for weeks.  Well, I have just recently had one of those moments.  I found these boxes all together, brand new condition, all for the measly price of $2.

Of course I snatched them right up.  Here is my dilemma, I have no idea what to put on them.  You see I don’t want them for my laundry room, that’s not some place I would ever fancy up.  My idea was to turn them around and use vinyl letter on the other side for something fun in my kitchen.

I have terrible decorating style and thus you see above my cupboards is ugly and BORING!!!

Here is where I am hoping all of our fans can help me out.  Can you give me ideas on the following:

1.  What words to put on them.

2.  Which order to put them in.

And 3.  Is there something else I should look for while bargain shopping to spruce up this area?

Since I have COMPLETE confidence in our fans I know we will get lots of really good suggestions.  Maybe you will even get some great ideas for your own home.  If you have pictures that go along with your ideas, feel free to email them to us.  I will even post some before and after pictures so you can all see what I ended up choosing.

In the event that no one posts suggestions, well then at least we will know that no one reads our blog anymore. 😉

Posted on September 14, 2010, in Before & After Pictures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Lucky you! What a fun find!

    Do you want to leave them up year-round? Because they would be adorable to paint orange and black for Halloween, and label with words like “Frog’s Eyes” and “Bat Wings”.

    Or you could do red, white and green for Christmas, with ingredients like gingerbread men, snowflake sprinkles, reindeer feed, etc.

    If you leave them as is, I think the colors would work well in your kitchen to brighten it up. I just don’t know what to put on them. 🙂 As far as placement, I’d probably start with the biggest ones in the middle, and spread the smaller ones out on each side. (green, orange, blue, red, yellow… or yellow, red if the first way looks too pattern-y)

    • Kemi,

      Those are some great ideas actually. Now I am going to have to be on the lookout for more of these because I really like the holiday decorating ideas. I do want something I can have up in between though. To bad you can see the sides of them when they are up above the cupboards because it would be nice to paint them different colors on each side and just flip them around for the holidays using your ideas! Thanks for the awesome comment. I LOVE how you are always so quick to respond!

  2. I never get time to go to DI and when I do I don’t find anything great. This was a great find! Kitchen: use “recipes” and related words. A thought came to mind about the “Recipe for a happy family” kindness (I can’t remember all of them) but lots of love. Go even more cutesy and label them “pinches”, “dashes”, “smidgens”, “garnishes” along with “recipes”. How about (may need to paint them) Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, Thyme and ? With this idea you could put a graphic on there of the spice. You could make a sentence (if that makes sense) relating to cooking, like “Martha Stewart doesn’t live here!” (That would be mine. I don’t cook any more!) Just some ideas to get your creative juices flowing. You won’t hurt my feelings if you don’t like these. We all have different tastes.

    • Joyce,
      I actually really like your ideas, especially the “Smidgens, garnishes, etc.” Those words are really cute. “I’m not your maid” would be my little saying. LOL!!! Thanks for the ideas. I can tell this will be really hard to decide.

  3. I like your maid saying. Too bad there isn’t a way to make your own removable stickers (or is there?) like the ones you buy to decorate a wall. Just a thought.

  4. Jan Barrett Shaffer

    Valerie, you could use the words apples or cutouts of apples, vegetables, kitchen tools, Shadows (blackouts of canisters or kitchen people working) all sorts of things…even shadows cookbooks.

    • Jan, such cute ideas. Never thought about using shows before. That is an interesting concept. That could work for a number of things I have been thinking about doing.

  5. What about putting on your boxes President Hinckley’s “Be’s”… Be Grateful, Be Smart, Be Clean, Be True, Be Humble, Be Prayerful. I like the idea of a “Recipe for a happy family”. What about using the Family Proclamation and on your biggest box put – Successful marriages and families are established and maintained on [gospel] principles… then on the other boxes put faith, prayer, repentance, forgiveness, respect, love, compassion, work, and wholesome recreational activities. I suppose you would have to double up on the wording because there is not enough boxes. Another idea is to just put the simple words of live, love, laugh, faith, and maybe your family name with the year your family was established. Good luck, the boxes are darling – such a great find! I’m sure you will come up with something meaningful and just right for your family.

    • LuAnn, I never thought about using the Proclamation that way. What a great idea! I am going to have to print out everyone’s ideas on plain paper and put them on the box and let them sit there for a while and then put up the next ones. That way I can get an idea of which I like best before committing them to vinyl sayings. Thank you for your input, I love to get those ideas from everyone. If you ever have pictures you want to share on any of our ideas, just email us and we can add them to our post. I like when everyone on our fan list collaborates together to share even more ideas with each other. I think it adds richness to our blog and invites more participation.

Leave a Reply

