Fun Friday – Do you want to emphasize obedience?

Want to emphasize obedience?  Using our “I Will Go and Do” tokens will work wonders in your home.  I have totally loved my “I Will Go and Do Tokens”!!!!  They have been such a saver for myself and my family.  Going from children being slow to obey to ones that try and beat others, was a turn around for me.  This inspiration came directly from Heavenly Father 3 years ago and I am not ashamed to admit it.  When I thought of obedience, the scripture in 1 Nephi 3:7 came to mind and then Heavenly Father gave me the inspiration to use tokens to encourage my children.  I knew I needed a Nephi so I called Tricia and she worked her magic a few years ago.  THANKS again Tricia!!  There are six different colors so that each person can have a color and to keep other children from taking what isn’t theirs.

How I use them:

For every time they are quick to obey or have done something out of the ordinary they earn a token.  The tokens are like money to be used toward the Good Job Jar.  You decide how much each item is worth in tokens, in your good job jar.  They can either use that token right away or save it up for a bigger items later on.  My children go for the Good Job Jar Coupons every time.  Some weeks we highlight a positive trait in a certain child.  All during that week if someone shows exceptional effort towards that trait they can earn extra tokens.  Inspiration that came from Heaven has made my home a heaven to live in.  Not all the time, everyone has their moments, but it was like going from negative to positive.  So here they are for you to use.  Please direct people to our blog if they want to use it.  It helps us know that there are still honest people out there and that you don’t take our hard work for granted.  THANKS!!!

I Will Go and Do Tokens Packet.pdf

Posted on June 11, 2010, in Everything Family, Freebies, LDS Families, Step Nine, Step Ten and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love this idea and so did my kids! How do you decide how many tokens an item is worth?

    • LaDonna, Thank you so much! It’s really up to you. I decided that the items that are worth more money are worth more tokens. Pretty simple. Stuff like Pixie Sticks are worth 1/2 a token, so it’s 2 for 1 token. Things like candy bars are worth more like 2 or 3 tokens, most coupons from the Good Job Jar Coupons post are worth 5 or more tokens. Just be realistic and have fun with it.

  2. I think this is a wonderful idea. I’ve done reward “treasure chests” in the past, but I think your idea goes a step further with the great coupon ideas. I love how you express appreciation for the child in most coupons – so nice. I am so excited to try this with my girls – and my girls are giddy with anticipation, watching me get everything together. Thank you for sharing.

    • THANK YOU Kristin!!! Tricia did a great job coming up with that first set. Hopefully my teenager set is just as great. I am putting a new post up for those making their own Good Job Jars. I would like to add pictures of everyone’s different ways they put it together. Feel free to email me your pictures and I will add them to our post that we are doing. support@myheartandhome.com

  3. I am not sure where else I have posted this reply but just in case it got lost in cyber space, I want to THANK YOU soooo much for this! I have been using this for over 3 months now and I love rewarding my children for doing chores/service and not having to nag (as hard) to get things done. I love the message behind this and “likening the scriptures unto us” has been super. I posted this on my facebook page when I found this and I will post it again to let others know that it really works. I have let the kids help me choose what goes in the prize box so I KNOW that there is something in there they want to work towards and that has also helped. THANK YOU! A million times THANK YOU!

    • Clara,

      You actually put your first comment under the Good Job Jar post. But I published both for you because I love having it in 2 places. Thanks a bunch for letting us know!!!!

      Valerie

Leave a Reply

