Family Fun – Teacher Appreciation

Is it the end of the school year already???  It’s time to think about thank you gifts for your child’s teacher.  I usually do something simple.  However, last week I had to go into my 1st grader’s class and do a thank you for their teacher for teacher appreciation week.  Parents watch the students and do a thank you for the teacher so that the teachers can all have lunch together.  I needed something that would keep the kids busy for a little while and something that would be fun for their teacher to receive.   I decided to use the flowers that we gave you for Mother’s Day to create a thank you flower pot for their teacher.

 

I bought a pot at Walmart for $2.50, some craft sticks (about $1.99), and some rocks to put in the bottom of the pot (these were the most expensive – you could probably get more creative and find something less expensive – they were about $3.00 a package and I needed 2).  I printed enough flowers for each child in the class to have one.  I also printed some extras that I put “Thanks a bunch” and “Thanks for helping us grow this year” on.  We have a small photo printer that will print passport size photos.  I took each child’s picture and then had them cut out their flower, tape it to a craft stick, and glue their picture on.  It only took about 15 minutes to make and it turned out really cute.  If you don’t have a photo printer, you can always just take the photos and print them at home.  That way it will be a surprise for your teacher on the last day of school.  If you want to make it less complicated, you can buy a small potted plant or flower and add a few sticks to it.  One with your child’s photo, one that says “Thanks a Bunch”, and one that says “Thanks for helping me grow this year”.  Get creative and add whatever you would like.  Your child’s teacher will love how thoughtful you were! 🙂  This is a great project for you and your child to do together.

Posted on May 17, 2010, in Everything Family, Holidays & Traditions, May and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tracey,

    I LOVE it!!! Never thought to use my flowers for Teacher Appreciation week. Way to take the idea and expand on it! Thanks for posting! Seems we all missed a little last week. Heehee!

Leave a Reply

