Fun Friday – Christmas Jars Gift

For those of you that have not read the books “Christmas Jars” and “Christmas Jars Reunion” by Jason Wright, stop reading this immediately and go purchase them both at Deseret Book or Seagull Book.  Once in a while you read a book that changes you somehow, that makes you a better person or at least makes you want to be a better person.   I feel like I want to change the world with my one little Christmas Jar!  I was surprised to see my friend’s name in the dedication of the first book.  She is an amazing person and I think the world of her.  This is for you and Cameron Christa.  We think of him often and remember his incredible spirit and love for others.

This year I have decided that I am going to give all of my siblings a book for Christmas.  There is a child’s version of this book out as well called “Penny’s Christmas Jar Miracle”.  I plan on giving  this book and a jar to each of my siblings for Christmas (I hope they aren’t reading this!) in hopes to start a new tradition.  Each year we struggle with what to give each other.  We usually give family gifts.  It seems some years that we give just to give, without much thought.  This year on Christmas Eve I want us to read the book together and talk about the jars.  Then, rather than give each other gifts next year, I would like us to fill our Christmas Jars and share our experiences in giving them away.  I am looking forward to hearing how each family shared their jar with someone in need.  In the Christmas Jar Reunion it says “One jar, one birth, one Savior”.  Isn’t that what Christmas is all about?  Our Savior.

I also decided to give jars as neighbor gifts this year.  I created a tag Christmas Jar Label  (version 1) and Christmas Jar Label (version 2)to attach to the jar that includes the book cover (so they will know where the idea came from) and a little poem explaining what the jar is.  Imagine what would happen if everyone had a Christmas Jar to share with someone in need.

These books will bring a spirit of selfless giving into your holiday season guaranteed.  I am planning on reading them to my older children along with the child’s book.  What a great tradition idea (thanks Jason Wright!) and I can’t think of a better way to show our love for our Heavenly Father than to help one of his children in need.  Happy Holidays!

Posted on December 18, 2009, in December, Everything Family, Holidays & Traditions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

