What’s on the Menu? – Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

I LOVE homemade mashed potatoes. I HATE the long process of making them. I don’t know what it is about them, but if I had to choose between fixing them and fixing pre-packaged stuff, I would choose the pre-packaged for ease of time. Yet, the taste of homemade mashed potatoes cannot compare to anything at all. This year I will be making mine the day before, so my Thanksgiving Dinner isn’t filled with me in the kitchen all day long. This recipe can be made a day or two ahead of time and stored in the fridge until you are ready for them. I am sure it’s all a mental thing, but sometimes we need those mental times to help us along life’s road.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

5 pounds potatoes, cooked and mashed
1 8oz. package cream cheese
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup milk
2 tsp. garlic salt
Salt and pepper to taste

Combine all the ingredients. Mix well and place in a large, greased casserole dish. If making ahead, refrigerate. Otherwise, cover and bake at 325 for 45 minutes. (If refrigerated first, let stand 30 minutes at room temperature and then bake as directed.) Makes 6 to 8 servings.

Posted on November 18, 2009, in November, Step Eight. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

