What's on the menu? – Ginger Pancakes!

I don’t mind cooking – really I don’t!   What I do mind is planning the menu.  Ughh!  I don’t know why it seems like such a chore but it does.  Trying to plan something that all my kids will eat gets more and more challenging with each child that I have!  I am also into quick and easy these days –  who knew that little league football would be so intense?  We wanted to share some of our favorite recipes to help you break up the monotony of meal planning.  This week I have a great breakfast recipe that I wanted to share.  We came across this recipe when the kids stayed overnight with grandma.  She made them ginger pancakes.  They are delicious and healthy too!  My three year old will even eat them and she doesn’t like anything.

Ginger Pancakes

  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 Tbsp. oil

Mix dry ingredients first and then add the milk, egg, and oil.   You can make pancakes or waffles with this mix.

I usually double the recipe to make enough for my family.   We even have them for dinner sometimes.  We top them with syrup (you can try our recipe for plum syrup if you want to!)  or yogurt and they are delicious!  I have also made them with my food storage.  I used powdered milk and powdered eggs and they tasted great.  To use the powdered eggs you just put in 1 Tbsp. of powder for each egg.  You don’t have to reconstitute them with water but you may need to add a little water to the batter if it seems dry.  You can mix them up according to the directions on the can (1 Tbsp. powder to 2 Tbsp. water) and that works as well.  For 3/4 cup of milk you need 2 1/4 Tbsp. of powder and 3/4 c. water.   So rotate some of that food storage and give them a try!

Posted on September 30, 2009, in Food Storage & Emergency Preparedness, Mixes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

