Applesauce – Homemade cannot be beat!

I too have been canning up a storm here at the Bybee household, which is why you haven’t seen too many posts from me on our blog. Forgive me.  I too am a greeny when it comes to canning but have chosen to immerse myself in the fantastic art of storing your food that has been homegrown or better yet free from others!  It has been a fantastic journey for me and I would like to share a great recipe I learned from my sister.  Applesauce. 

Yes, most people who heard I was doing it thought I was crazy.  With the help of my sister’s fabulous easy-as-pie recipe, I will do it again and again.  One tool is vital to have during this process, it is called a food mill.  This is what you use to squeeze the juice and pulp out of the apples.  Without this tool I wouldn’t try it, the work is much more labor intensive.  I loved this recipe so much because there is no pealing or coring, just slicing in quarters.  The apples come out tasting so good already you really don’t need to add sugar.  Here you go, enjoy, and happy canning!

 

Canned Applesauce

 12-16 pounds of apples

8 strips of lemon peeled off lemon with vegetable peeler

6-8 tablespoons of lemon juice (strengthens flavor of apple)

6 inches of cinnamon stick

4 cups of water in bottom of pot

 

Wash apples cut into quarters or eighths, no coring or peeling

Put in stock pot with lemon peal and cinnamon stick

Cover and simmer until the apples are soft all the way through

Pick out cinnamon sticks then put everything else through a food mill

Rinse pot then add food mill stuff back into the pot

Sweeten to taste with ½ to 1 cup brown sugar, then add white sugar to taste (Total sugar added should be between 1 cup to 2 cups.) Bring to a boil.

If you want you can substitute 20 percent of apples to strawberries.

 

Pour into prepared jars and process in the water bath canner for 30 minutes.  (This recipe has 10 minutes added for high altitude.  Be sure to take 10 minutes off if you are below 1,000 feet in altitude.  If you are between 1,001 to 3,000 feet take off 5 minutes.)

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Food Storage, Food Storage & Emergency Preparedness, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

