Canning – A Love/Hate Relationship

Tis the season when my kitchen is a little too warm and my floor is a little too sticky!  I’ve been canning away like crazy these past 3 weeks.  Last year was my first year to “get my feet wet” and see what it was all about, and I fell in love. There is no better feeling than seeing the gleaming full fruit jars sitting on your kitchen counter.  It truly makes me happy.  But this year, I’ve decided it’s a love/hate relationship.  I love the end result but hate the time and mess that goes into it.  Does this stop me?  Nope!  I just keep on plugging away, because this winter, when it’s freezing cold outside, I will love pulling out a jar of fresh peaches and eating away! 

 

As a company, we wanted to share some of our favorite canning recipes with you.  My new favorite this year is Plum Syrup.  It truly is to die for!  I’m not a big plum fan and didn’t know what to do with all the free plums that were given to me.  I did a little research and found this simple recipe.   I promise that you’ll love it!

 

Plum (or any fruit) Syrup

8 c. plum juice

2 c. corn syrup

12 c. sugar

 

Combine all 3 ingredients into a large pot.  Bring to a boil.  Boil for 15 minutes.  Turn off heat, skim foam, and pour into sterilized jars.  Process for 25 minutes (this is for Utah elevation) in a hot water bath. Yields 8-9 pints.

Posted on September 22, 2009, in Everything Family, Food Storage, Food Storage & Emergency Preparedness, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

