Gardening Made EASY!

I finally finished planting the last of my garden!  I’m a little late on some of my plants but I’m hoping for the “better late than never” plan!  This years garden includes:  Peas, Potatoes, Radishes, Rutabagas, Collard Greens, Swiss Chard, Beans, Tomatoes, Corn, Bush Pickles, Raspberries, Strawberries, Lettuce (three kinds), Brussel Sprouts, Onions (4 kinds), Cucumbers, Watermellons, Cantalope, Peppers (4 kinds), Pumpkins (4 kinds), Gooseberries, Beets, Yellow Squash, Zuchinni, Spaghetti Squash, Spinach, Broccoli, and Cauliflower.  I decided it would be better to fill the garden with plants that I want instead of weeds that I don’t!  Oh, the joy of weeding!  My garden plan is pretty simple:  I use the “TOPS & BOTTOMS” System.  Some things grow up above the ground, while others grow below the ground.  Check the companion garden page to see what plants grow well together.  I planted my lettuce and my beets in the same row . . . lettuce grows on the top, the beets grow below so they count as the bottoms.  This makes the best use of the space and cuts down on the weeds.  Remember to include the family.  Make it fun with contests and incentives.  Each of my boys is assigned a section of the garden to weed and care for.  It really is true that “Many hands make light work ” and being in the garden with the family gives opportunity for great conversation!  Happy Planting!

Posted on May 20, 2009, in Everything Family, Family Responsibilities and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

