Weekly/Monthly Focus Sticks


In a previous post we talked about using our Daily Focus technique in creating more one on one time with each member of your family.  I would like to take that one step further and give you another idea to go along with it.  I found it was becoming really hard to always come up with something to do with each of my children on a weekly or even monthly basis.  I needed to be able to make it a lot simpler and thus making it more enjoyable to do the planning part of it.  Thus I created our Weekly/Monthly Focus Sticks.  I asked each child to come up with a list of things they would want to do with either parent.  For the babies I created a list for them.  Then I bought some big size colored foam Popsicle sticks.  They had all the colors of my children so it worked out really well.  After typing up their lists on the computer, I printed them out on clear labels, cut them out and affixed them to each individual stick.  Add a cute basket with 6 slots and you have a great way to put on the calendar what you are doing with each child for the month.  My children love pulling out a focus stick that they helped create because they know what went in there.  I even took the leftover color and created some great date night ideas to pull from.  Sometimes being stuck in the same rut for date night isn’t all that great, especially when all the new movies are R rated.  It’s fun to pull out something and then go and do it.  I made sure that there was plenty of ideas in there that wouldn’t cost a dime or that wouldn’t even require us to be out of the house.  Playing a game of Chess or Scrabble with your husband can be very challenging and fun.  I am still attempting to win a game of Chess since we got married 13 years ago.  One day I will, practice is everything!

FREEBIE: Click on the Monthly Focus Sticks link to download a few ideas for date nights and children to get your creative juices flowing.  Have fun with it, let your hair down, and remember to become a child again!

Posted on April 20, 2009, in Freebies, Step Ten and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is such a fantastic idea!

    I really love reading your blog posts. They make my entire week happier.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

